AIA Announces 2014 Young Architects Awards

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has selected 18 recipients for its 2014 AIA Young Architects Award. The program honors individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and significantly contributed to the profession early in their careers. The AIA defines young architects as those who have been licensed 10 years or fewer, regardless of their age.

Recipients include:

Illya Azaroff, AIA, founding principal of +lab Architects in Brooklyn

Thomas Bradley Benjamin, AIA, founder of Radium Architecture in Greenville, South Carolina

Joshua Flowers, AIA, in-house legal counsel for Hnedak Bobo Group

Wyatt Frantom, AIA, se,nior architectural designer and associate, Gensler Los Angeles

Nathan Kalaher, AIA, co-founder of PLaN Architecture, Sioux City, Iowa

Evelyn M. Lee, AIA, who has held elected leadership positions at the AIA on local, regional, and national boards

Timothy W. Maddox, AIA, principal in charge at deMx architecture, Fayetteville, Arkansas

Daniel Overbey, AIA, who has served as an educator at several institutions as well as held several positions at the local, regional, and national levels within AIA

Mark Pasnik, AIA, co-founder of Boston-based architecture and design firm over,under

Michael P. Pfeffer, AIA, associate director at Skidmore, Owings and Merrill

Jason Dale Pierce, AIA, project architect with HOK in St. Louis

Mark A. Schwamel, AIA, architect at Gensler

Matt Slagle, AIA, who has served as the AIA Grand Rapids member services director

Christian B. Sottile, AIA, principal of Sottile & Sottile in Savannah, Georgia

Lorena Toffer, AIA, a registered architect in both Texas and Mexico and former chair of the Young Architects Forum

Brian Vitale, AIA, design director, Gensler Chicago

Karen E. Williams, AIA, architect with HKS Architects Inc. and adjunct professor at Seminole State College

Jeffrey M. Yrazabal, AIA, principal at SRG Partnership, Seattle