RIBA Announces 2014 Stirling Prize Shortlist

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has announced the shortlist of six projects that will vie for the 2014 Stirling Prize. The annual award is issued to the building that has made the biggest contribution to the evolution of architecture in a given year.

"The shortlisted buildings are all major new additions to an already dense urban fabric in the cities they serve," RIBA president Stephen Hodder said in a statement. "However, they are remarkably crafted buildings, and the closer you look at their detail, both internally and externally, and their materiality, the more impressive they become."

Stirling Prize judges will visit the six shortlisted buildings and select the winner on October 16. The jury comprises Spencer de Grey (Foster + Partners), MJ Long (Long and Kentish architects), Cindy Walters (Walters and Cohen), Stephen Kieran (Kieran Timberlake), and Sir Timothy Sainsbury.

The shortlist includes:

Everyman Theatre, Liverpool
Architect: Haworth Tompkins

Photo by Philip Vile

Library of Birmingham
Architect: Mecanoo

London Aquatics Centre
Architect: Zaha Hadid Architects

Photo by Hufton+Crow

London Bridge Tower (The Shard)
Architect: Renzo Piano Building Workshop

Photo by Michel Denance

London School of Economics - Saw Swee Hock Student Centre
Architect: O'Donnell + Tuomey Architects

Photo by Dennis Gilbert

Manchester School of Art
Architect: Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios

Photo by Hufton+Crow