Six Practices Earn 2014 Architectural League Prize

The Architectural League of New York has selected six recipients of its 2014 Architectural League Prize.

Young architects and designers who have been out of school less than 10 years are eligible for the juried portfolio competition, which recognizes exemplary and provocative work.

Winning practices will present their work in lectures and exhibition, as well as a catalogue published by Princeton Architectural Press.

This year's entrants submitted their work under the theme of "Overlay" and how it "drives discourse, tension between iterations, design solutions, and the parameters by which work is reviewed."

The winners are:

Kutan Ayata and Michael Young, Young & Ayata, Brooklyn
Claus Benjamin Freyinger and Andrew Holder, The LADG, Los Angeles
Adam Fure, SIFT Studio, Ann Arbor, Michigan
Thomas Kelley and Carrie Norman, Norman Kelley, Brooklyn and Chicago
Jenny E. Sabin, Jenny Sabin Studio, Philadelphia
Geoffrey von Oeyen, Geoffrey von Oeyen Design, Los Angeles

For more on each recipient, click here.

The Architectural League also has awarded its 2014 President's Medal to sculptor Richard Serra. He is the first artist to win the prize, which recognizes an individual's body of work in architecture, urbanism, art, or design. Serra will be honored at an event on May 6.

Pictured above: Villa Al-Mezhar, courtesy of Young & Ayata.