Expanded Editorial Advisory Board, Guests Enjoy the 2014 Contract Design Forum

The influence of culture as it relates to design permeated the discussions at Contract’s 10th annual Design Forum, held in November at Hotel Jerome in Aspen. This Forum drew the largest number of attendees in the program’s history, with members of Contract’s expanded Editorial Advisory Board representing a nationwide cross section of leaders who specialize in workplace, healthcare, hospitality, retail, and education interiors, as well as real estate.

Forum kicked off with a reception at the recently opened Aspen Art Museum (pictured here), designed by Shigeru Ban, the 2001 Designer of the Year. The keynote speaker was Howard Tullman, CEO of 1871, an incubator for tech startups located in the Merchandise Mart in Chicago. Tullman described the confluence of technology, culture, and innovation in design that is transforming our world today. The next speaker, Max Chopovsky, founder of Chicago Creative Space, continued the theme by sharing how his company creates videos of workspaces that capture companies’ culture. Comedic respite was provided by actress and comedian Maysoon Zayid. The closing speaker was Alan Ricks, co-founder of MASS Design Group, Contract’s 2012 Designer of the Year, who shared his firm’s work in healthcare and education design in Rwanda, Haiti, and other countries.

The Contract Design Forum was made possible by sponsors BOLYU, Cumberland, Davis, HBF, Humanscale, Keilhauer, Mohawk Group, OFS Brands, Shaw Contract Group, Steelcase, Tandus Centiva, Tarkett, Teknion, Universal Fibers, and Wilsonart.  View the video produced by James Eades below and view a gallery of photos from the event here. View more videos from Contract magazine on Vimeo.

Attendees at the Contract Design Forum included the magazine’s expanded editorial advisory board.

Contract Editorial Advisory Board
Roy Abernathy, AIA, Allied ASID, Savills-Studley
Sean Black, Jones Lang LaSalle
Mary Bledsoe, IIDA, Gensler
Michael Bonomo, IIDA, M Moser Associates
Bill Bouchey, IIDA, VOA Associates
Shashi Caan, Hon. FASID, IIDA, The Shashi Caan Collective
Bob Chodos, Colliers International
Annie Chu, AIA, IIDA, Chu+Gooding Architects
Anne Cunningham, Assoc. AIA, IIDA, NBBJ
Mitchell Cohen, NELSON
Ray Ehscheid, Affiliate IIDA, Bank of America
Peter Ferzan, Turner Townsend Ferzan Robbins LLC    
Anne-Marie Gianoudis, IIDA, Gresham, Smith and Partners
Lois Goodell, CBT Architects
Dina Griffin, AIA, IIDA, Interactive Design Architects (IDEA)
Suzen Heeley, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Holley Henderson, H2 Ecodesign
Andre Kikoski, AIA, Andre Kikoski Architect
Saliba Kokaly, Swedish Covenant Hospital
Angie Lee, FAIA, IIDA, VOA Associates
Todd-Avery Lenahan, TAL Studio
Jeannette Lenear, IIDA, VOA Associates
Pamela Light, FIIDA, HOK
Vito Lotta, AIA, Hilton Worldwide
Bill Lyons, Assoc. AIA, Gensler
Irwin Miller, Assoc. AIA, Gensler
Sean O’Donnell, AIA, Perkins Eastman
Melissa Price, Quicken Loans
Primo Orpilla, IIDA, Studio O+A
Barry Richards, Rockwell Group
Lauren Rottet, FAIA, FIIDA, Rottet Studio
Rachelle Schoessler Lynn, FASID, MSR
Alex Shapleigh, Callison
Joey Shimoda, FAIA, IIDA, Shimoda Design Group
Felice Silverman, FIIDA, Silverman Trykowski Associates
Jocelyn Stroupe, IIDA, ASID, Cannon Design
Jennifer Wagner, IIDA, HKS
Sascha Wagner, IIDA, Huntsman Architectural Group
Steve Wiesenthal, FAIA, University of Chicago
Kendall Wilson, FAIA, FIIDA, Perkins+Will