Entries for the 2018 Nightingale Awards are now open! Product categories and the submission portal can be found here.


The Nightingale Awards honor new products that are exhibited at the Healthcare Design Expo & Conference in November. Presented by Healthcare Design and Contract in partnership with the Center for Health Design, the Nightingale Awards recognize contribution to the healthcare built environment through product design and innovation that contributes to healing.

Named in honor of Florence Nightingale, and initiated by Contract magazine’s editors and The Center for Health Design’s founders in 1990, the Nightingale Awards recognize products that are juried by seasoned healthcare design professionals and healthcare facility managers. The jury makes selections based on the product’s contribution to a healing environment, functionality, quality and durability, aesthetics and style, pricing, and innovation. To evaluate the entries, jurors visit the exhibitors’ booths before the show floor opens at the Healthcare Design Expo & Conference to examine the products in person and ask questions of the manufacturers as well.

Below, view the 2017 winners of the Nightingale Awards.

Image courtesy of Mohawk Group

Mohawk Group’s Lichen carpet collection was honored as the Best of Competition winner. Lichen was also honored with the Gold Award in the Carpet category.

Silver Award in Architectural Products: Clinical
Matrix M., Pressalit Care

Gold Award in Architectural Products: Clinical
Acrovyn by Design Patterns Collection, Construction Specialties

Gold Award in Architectural Products: Non-Clinical
Ligature-Resistant Sliding Door System, Accurate Lock and Hardware

Silver Award in Carpet
Sanctuary, Shaw Contract

Gold Award in Carpet
Lichen, Mohawk Group

Silver Award in Fabrics & Textiles
Genie Medical Copper Mesh, Via Seating

Gold Award in Fabrics & Textiles
Project ICU, C.F. Stinson

Silver Award in Flooring: Hard Surface
AdMix Encore, Patcraft

Innovation Award in Flooring: Resilient
Innate, Shaw Contract

Silver Award in Flooring: Resilient
Terasu, Shaw Contract

Gold Award in Flooring: Resilient
norament arago, nora systems

Gold Award in Furniture: Clinician Support
Intent Solution, Herman Miller

Silver Award in Furniture Collections
Mora, Herman Miller

Gold Award in Furniture Collections
Resilia Drum Table, Stance Healthcare

Silver Award in Lighting
Sole, Visa Lighting

Innovation Award in Seating: Guest/Lounge
Surround, Steelcase Health

Silver Award in Seating: Guest/Lounge
Tailor, Spec Furniture

Gold Award in Seating: Guest/Lounge
Valayo Collection, Integra Seating

Innovation Award in Seating: Patient
Saven Rocker, Carolina/OFS Brands

Silver Award in Seating: Patient
Hardi, Spec Furniture

Gold Award in Seating: Patient
Ruckus Task Chair, KI

Innovation Award in Surfacing Materials
GetWell Patient Room, Kwalu

Innovation Award in Technology-Integrated Solutions
5.0 + See, Sample, Spec, C.F. Stinson

Gold Award in Technology-Integrated Solutions
IQvitals Zone, Midmark Corporation

Innovation Award in Window Shading & Treatments
ElectroPocket, MechoSystems

Silver Award in Window Shading & Treatments
ElectroPocket, MechoSystems

previous winners

2015 Nightingale Awards Winners Announced
November 16, 2015

The Nightingale Best of Competition Award was given to Nemschoff for Ava Recliner, which also received a Gold Award in the Seating: Patient category.

2014 Nightingale Awards Winners Announced
November 17, 2014

The winners of the Nightingale Awards for healthcare interior products were announced by Contract Editor in Chief John Czarnecki this morning at the Healthcare Design Conference in San Diego.