AIA Announces 2018 Institute Honor Awards

Audain Art Museum. Image courtesy James Dow/Patkau Architects.

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has named the winners of the 2018 Institute Honor Awards in the categories of architecture, interior architecture, and regional & urban design. Chosen from a pool of nearly 500 submissions, 17 recipients across the globe will be recognized at this year’s AIA Conference for Architecture in New York.

The 2018 Institute Honor Awards for architecture:

Audain Art Museum
Patkau Architects Inc.
Whistler, British Columbia, Canada

The Broad
Diller Scofidio + Renfro
Los Angeles

The Broad. Image courtesy Iwan Baan.

Chicago Riverwalk
Ross Barney Architects

Gohar Khatoon Girls’ School
Robert Hull, FAIA, and the University of Washington, Department of Architecture
Mazar-i-Sharif, Afghanistan

Manhattan Districts 1/2/5 & Spring Street Salt Shed
Dattner Architects in association with WXY architecture + urban design
New York

Mercer Island Fire Station 92
Miller Hull Partnership
Mercer Island, Washington

New United States Courthouse
Los Angeles

New United States Courthouse. SOM | John Gaylord, 2017

Vol Walker Hall & the Steven L. Anderson Design Center
Marlon Blackwell Architects
Fayetteville, Arkansas

Washington Fruit & Produce Company Headquarters
Graham Baba Architects
Yakima, Washington

The jury for the 2018 AIA Institute Honor Awards for Architecture includes: Lee Becker, FAIA (Chair), Hartman-Cox Architects; Anne Marie Decker, FAIA, Duvall Decker Architects; Susan Johnson, AIA, Strata; Anna Jones, Assoc. AIA, MOD Design; Caitlin Kessler, AIAS Student Representative, University of Arizona; Marilee Meacock, AIA, KSS Architects; Robert Miller, FAIA, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson; Sharon Prince, Grace Farms Foundation; and Rob Rogers, FAIA, Rogers Partners.

The 2018 Institute Honor Awards for interior architecture:

Chicago Public Library, Chinatown Branch

Photographer’s Loft
Desai Chia Architecture
New York

Reeds Spring Middle School
Dake Wells Architecture
Reeds Spring, Missouri

Reeds Spring Middle School. Image courtesy Architectural Imageworks, LLC.

Sound Transit University of Washington Station
LMN Architects

Square, Inc. Headquarters
Bohlin Cywinski Jackson
San Francisco

The jury for the 2018 AIA Institute Honor Awards for Interior Architecture includes: Brian Caldwell, AIA (Chair), THINKTANK Design Group; Joshua Aidlin, AIA, Aidlin Darling Design; Kiyomi Kurooka, AIA, DWL Architects + Planners Inc.; John Paquin, AIA, Statesville; and William T. Ruhl, AIA, RUHL WALKER Architects.

The 2018 Institute Honor Awards for regional & urban design:

Chicago Riverwalk
Ross Barney Architects

Chicago Riverwalk. Image courtesy Kate Joyce Studios.

Salty Urbanism: Sea Level Rise Adaptation Strategies for Urban Areas
Brooks + Scarpa
Florida Atlantic University and University of Southern California
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Urban Watershed Framework Plan: A Reconciliation Landscape for Conway, Arkansas
University of Arkansas Community Design Center

The jury for the 2018 AIA Institute Honor Awards for Regional and Urban Design includes: Roger Schluntz, FAIA (Chair), School of Architecture and Planning, University of Mexico; Lisa Chronister, AIA, City of Oklahoma City Planning Department; Suzanne DiGeronimo, FAIA, DiGeronimo Architects; Tim Griffin, AIA, Minnesota Design Center; and Gerry Tierney, AIA, Perkins+Will.