AIA Announces Winners of 2018 Young Architects Awards and Associates Awards

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has named winners for this year’s Associates Awards and Young Architects Awards. The honorees will be recognized at the 2018 AIA Conference on Architecture in New York this June.

The winners were also announced for the 2018 Young Architects Award. The award honors architects licensed for ten years or less who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and made significant contributions in the industry. The jury included chairperson Lenore M. Lucey, FAIA, of LML Consulting; Raymond “Skipper” Post, FAIA, of Post Architects; Edward Vance, FAIA, of EV&A Architects; Peter Kuttner, FAIA, of Cambridge Seven Associates; John Castellana, FAIA, of TMP Architecture; and Evelyn Lee, AIA, of Savills Studley.

The 2018 Young Architects Award winners are:
Michelle Acosta, AIA, SmithGroupJJR
Allison, Albericci, AIA, City and County of San Francisco Planning Department
Jamie Crawley, AIA, HA Architecture
Matthew DeBoer, AIA, HDR, Inc.
Lawrence Fabbroni, AIA, Strada
Tony Garcia, AIA, asquared studios
Kelly A. Haigh, AIA, designLAB architects
Thomas Hurlbert, AIA, CO-OP Architecture
Erin Sterling Lewis, AIA, in situ studio
Nicole Martineau, AIA, Arrowstreet
Ryan McEnroe, AIA, Quinn Evans Architects
Stephen Parker, AIA, SmithgroupJJR
Pascale Sablan, AIA, S9 Architecture
Angela Wolf Scott, AIA, MacDonald & Mack Architects
Malini Srivastava, AIA, Design and Energy Lab
Satoshi Teshima, AIA, HGA Architects and Engineers
Anthony Viola, AIA, Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill Architecture
Korey White, AIA, RNL Design

The Associates Awards recognize Associate AIA members for outstanding contributions to the architectural community and profession. The 2018 jury included chairperson Rik Master, FAIA, of USG Corporation; Patrick Burke, FAIA, of Columbia University; Lindsey Graff, Assoc. AIA, of Ayers Saint Gross Architects; Libby Haslam, AIA, of GSBS Architects; and R. Steven Lewis, FAIA, of TRC Energy Services.

The 2018 Associates Award recipients are:
Jake Banton, Assoc. AIA, Mackey Mitchell Architects
Melissa R. Daniel, Assoc. AIA, WDG Architecture
Ryan Gann, Assoc. AIA, Ross Barney Architects
Gail Kubik, Assoc. AIA, Finegold Alexander Architects
Yiselle Santos Rivera, Assoc. AIA, HKS Architects
Jake Takeuchi, Assoc. AIA, Ferraro Choi and Associates
Timarie Trarbach, Assoc. AIA, Populous