Cooper Hewitt Announces Winners of 2018 National Design Awards

The Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum has announced the winners of the 2018 National Design Awards, recognizing design excellence and innovation in 10 categories. This year’s Director’s Award will be chosen at a later date, according to museum director Caroline Baumann. The Awards are bestowed in recognition of excellence, innovation, and enhancement of the quality of life.

“All 10 of this year’s winners present a powerful design perspective and body of work that is at once inclusive and deeply personal, accompanied by great achievement, humanity, and social impact,” said Baumann. “I am excited to share our winners with the world at large as we chart an ambitious path for our most prominent educational initiative that further elevates Cooper Hewitt as a national platform for design. These inspiring men and women will be joining us in classrooms and communities throughout the U.S. to help us raise awareness of the power of design to improve our lives.”

Established in 2000 as a project of the White House Millennium Council, the National Design Awards winners are determined by a jury of design leaders and educators from across the country based on the work’s level of excellence, innovation, and public impact. Individual nominees must have been practicing design for a minimum of seven years, while Lifetime Achievement nominees must have been practicing professionally for a minimum of 20 years. A Director’s Award recognizing outstanding support and patronage within the design community is chosen by Baumann.

The 2018 National Design Awards Winners are:

Lifetime Achievement: Gail Anderson
Design Mind: Anne Whiston Spirn
Corporate & Institutional Achievement: Design for America
Architecture Design: Weiss/Manfredi
Communication Design: Civilization
Fashion Design: Christina Kim
Interaction Design: Neri Oxman
Interior Design: Oppenheim Architecture + Design
Landscape Architecture: Mikyoung Kim Design
Product Design: Blu Dot

Recipients will be honored during an awards ceremony during National Design Week this October.