AIA Announces 2015 Young Architects and Associates Award Winners

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has announced the 14 recipients of its 2015 Young Architects Award, which honors architects for their leadership and contribution to the profession, and two recipients for the 2015 Associates Award, the highest honor given to individual associate AIA members who display superb leadership skills and have demonstrated their commitment to their component or region’s membership, in the community, in professional organizations, or in the design and construction industries.

The 2015 Young Architects Award winners are:

José Alvarez, AIA, Eskew+Dumez+Ripple, New Orleans

Zachary R. Benedict, AIA, MKM Architecture + Design, Fort Wayne, Indiana

Hafsa Burt, AIA, hb+a Architects, San Francisco

Justin Crane, AIA, Cambridge Seven Architects, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Sarah W. Dirsa, AIA, HOK, St. Louis

Andrew Dunlap, AIA, SmithGroupJJR, Detroit

James Henry, AIA, HDR, Dallas

Chris Hong, AIA, 70 International, Honolulu

James A. Meyer, AIA, Studio Main, Little Rock, Arkansas

Ann Sobiech Munson, AIA, Substance Architecture, Des Moines, Iowa

Adrianne Steichen, AIA, Pyatok Architecture + Urban Design, Oakland, California

Rebecca Talbert, AIA, Dewbery, Orlando, Florida

Derek C. Webb, AIA, mArchitects, Houston

Elizabeth Whittaker, AIA, Merge Architects, Boston

This jury for the 2015 Young Architects Awards comprised: William J. Stanley, III, FAIA (chair) of Stanley Love-Stanley, Atlanta; Lenore M. Lucey, FAIA, of LML Consulting, Washington, D.C.; Jonathan Penndorf, AIA, of Perkins + Will, Washington, D.C.; Raymond Post, FAIA, of Post Architects, Baton Rouge, Louisiana; Albert W. Rubeling, FAIA, of Rubeling & Associates, Towson, Maryland; and John Sorrenti, FAIA, of JRS Architect, PC, Mineola, New York. 

The 2015 Associates Award winners are:

Stephen Francis Gray, Assoc. AIA, Sasaki Associates, Boston

Mary E. Hale, Assoc. AIA, Shepley Bulfinch, Boston

The jury for the 2015 Associates Awards comprised: Donald King, FAIA, (chair) of DKA Architecture in Seattle; Hiroshi Jacobs, Assoc. AIA, of Studios Architecture in Washington, D.C.; Michael Pyatok, FAIA, of Pyatok Architects in Oakland, California; David Trevino, AIA, of the City of Dallas; and Karen E. Williams, AIA, of PIVOT Architecture in Eugene, Oregon.